CAN YOU DIG IT!

7 Mar

Mojobeatles
Been listening lots to Mojo’s fourth release of a Beatles album covered by people you never heard of. Well not quite true.

We’ve all heard of Beth Orton, right? She gets two tracks, the (imho) best on the record followed by the weirdest (dunnit look like they’re havin’ fun? Not!). John and Yoko’s contribution I shouldn’t wonder.

Fabulous! Orton’s version that is. They roll into each other with “Dig It” converted into an avant-experimental epilogue for Harrison’s tune. That’s the showcase. I wonder if she thinks it’s the album’s best song too. She does it as George wrote it, as she should. It’s her sound and she knows what the words really mean.
bethorton
First the lonely crowd lugubrious lament on the selfishness of people (All thru your life, I-me-mine, I-me-mine, I-me-mine) followed by the unabashed egotistical strut (I! Me-me mine!). She’s better than the boys were. By far. She digs it, she lives for it, it comes from the heart and fuck you. And that’s today me too.

At the end of “Dig It” she has a dig at Yoko. Hah! Where Lester Bangs thought John Lennon was culture climbing marrying her, Orton knows full well ’twas the other way around. I guess she sees Yoko as a rich kid opportunist maybe. I don’t know. Don’t know her. And I don’t care about John and Yoko.

Why then all the bollocks viz the motherfucking sixties! Ahhhrrrggghh! Will we ever be rid of them.

Doorsmovie

My generation that is (1963-1979). The answer: no. Why’ve I been crapping on about rock stars and their stupid drug deaths, why have I been contemplating the erosion of talent that comes of overindulgence. The cracked marriages, the fall into apelike vulgarity and the will to slavery that so many seem to, just… prefer!

Have I been doing this?

Who knows. I think I’ll just drop it. The point’s made. Those songs were writ by the Magic Group, right? But they hated each other’s guts when they did ’em. It had gone sour. Go back and look at the clip from Let It Be. Look at Harrison’s face. And check out John Lennon trying to be Bob Marley or something.

Orton’s taken all that and made magic. Doesn’t that make you happy? What? You don’t know? You haven’t heard it? Oh…

I feel the sorriest for you.

Thru talking. Ciao.

4 Responses to “CAN YOU DIG IT!”

  1. Philomena March 9, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Face it, you’re a joyless loser.

    Funny that I once expected more of you. Oh well. First impressions.

  2. AC Stewart March 9, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Well it could be worse Phil, I could spend my days trying to bait people and talking to Graeme Bird. 🙂

    • Philomena March 10, 2011 at 7:52 am #

      Graeme Bird shits* on you intellectually and as a human being.

      Seriously.

      * In the colloquial meaning of the word in this context.

      • roguevert June 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

        The lady doth protest too much…

Leave a Reply

